Patent Palooza!

Patent Palooza! Celebrating Innovation


Patent Palooza! is an event hosted by the OTC to celebrate the UK Innovation Community. It recognizes UK innovators and successful commercialization deals of the previous fiscal year.

Patent Palooza! 2019

Patent Palooza! Event Info

The third annual Patent Palooza! event will recognize all UK innovators and successful commercialization deals of FY18.

Dr. Lee Todd will be presented the inaugural Lee T. Todd Lifetime Achievement Award in Entrepreneurship.

March 26, 2019
4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Ballroom 212C
Gatton Student Center


The second annual event was held March 27, 2018, at the Hilary J. Boone Center. Recognition was given to inventors on patents, inventors whose patents have been licensed, researchers and startup companies who have received SBIR/STTR grants, UKAccel graduates, and innovators being recognized by the National Academy of Inventors.


The first annual event, held March 28, 2017, recognized 43 inventors for the 30 patents that were issued in fiscal year 2016. Special recognition - an engraved and framed plaque with replica patent - was given to Dr. Chang-Guo Zhan, who reached a milestone of receiving his 20th patent in 2016. He had 5 patents issued last year alone! Each inventor named on an issued patent in FY16 was given a coffee mug with the front cover of their patent printed on it. 

Additionally, recipients of SBIR-STTR grants in FY16 were recognized, as well as inventors on patents for which a license agreement was executed. 

Top: Dr. Chang-Guo Zhan & Ian McClure, Honoree Patent Mug; Bottom: Pres. Capiluto & Stephen Dobson, Pres. Capiluto & Ian McClure

2018 Honorees

David Allen

George P. Allen

Jayakrishna Ambati

John Anthony

Sergey Artiushin

Theodore Asafo-Adjei

Eric M. Blalock

Luke H. Bradley

Melissa A. Bradley-Whitman

Stephen A. Brown

Thomas Chambers

Payal Chandan

Joseph Chappell

Jhong-Min Chen

Kuey-Chu Chen

Zhi David Chen

Fuhua Cheng

Yang-Tse Cheng

Robert Corn

Donna L. Coyle

Russell Coyle

John D. Craddock

Mark Crocker

Peter A. Crooks

Timothy P. Devarenne

Stephen Dobson

Linda P. Dwoskin

Thomas Dziubla

Kate Eddens

Karyn Esser

Steven Estus

Reynolds A. Frimpong

John Christopher Gant

Xin Gao

Don Marshall Gash

Matthew Gentry

Greg A. Gerhardt

Priyanka Ghosh

Bryan Greenhagen

Kenny Harris

Arit M. Harvanko

Todd Hastings

Kenneth Haynes

Zach Hilt

Robert Hodgen

Joseph R. Holtman

Dillon Huffman

David Patrick Hunley

Elaine L. Jacobson

Myron K. Jacobson

Michael Joseph Jay

Craig T. Jordan

Serene Josiah

Vinod Kasam

Chase Kempinski

Dong-Eun Kim

Hyuntae Kim

Kyung Bo Kim

Craig Vander Kooi

Philip W. Landfield

Do-Min Lee

Na-Re Lee

Wooin Lee

Markos Leggas

Joshua Lile

Stephen M. Lipka

Cameron A. Lippert

John Littleton

Kun Liu

Kunlei Liu

Paul Lockman

Catherine Loudon

Mark A. Lovell

Bert C. Lynn

J. Michael McIntosh

Tina Metcalf

Zach Miller

Thomas D. Niehaus

Kimbely Northrip

Shigeru Okada

Kalpana S. Paudel

Todor Petrov

Ragotham Reddy Pinninti

Nada Porter

Michael F. Potter

David Puleo

Joseph E. Remias

Jurgen T. Rohr

Daniel Scott

Manli Shen

Stefan Stamm

Audra Stinchcomb

Galen Stone

Douglas Robert Strachan

Sangeetha Sumithran

Christopher R. Swartz

Megan Szyndler

Valeria Tarallo

Darrell Taulbee

Olivier Thibault

John S. Thompson

John Timoney

Oleg V. Tsodikov

Andrzej Wala

Elzbieta Pogonowska Wala

Dongfang Wang 

David S. Watt

Xiaochen Wei

Mathew C. Weisenberger

Michael J. Wesley

Wenchao Yang

Chang-Guo Zhan

Zhenfa Zhang

Fang Zheng

Guangrong Zheng

Joseph B. Zwischenberger